It’s that time of year again, when the procrastinators panic and the Über-organized smirk in smug satisfaction. Some folks have their gifts purchased, wrapped, and either mailed or under the tree, while others still have no idea what they’re buying for anyone. I fall somewhere in the middle, usually, though this year I’ve been running a bit late– just purchased the last gift today, actually.

Whatever end (or middle part) of the spectrum you happen to live on, here are a few gift ideas for various budgets. They’re not all traditional, but they are all things that I have found to be really helpful in my day-to-day life. If you’ve already gotten your Christmas shopping done, you can always use them next year, or get something for yourself as a reward!

Contigo 20 oz Autoseal Thermal Mug

IMG_20151214_132056313

This thing is amazing. I love it. It’s double-wall vacuum insulated like a quality thermos, and it’s just the right size to slide into a purse pocket, car cup holder, or water bottle carrier. Or  you can just toss it into a backpack or tote because IT DOESN’T LEAK. Ever. I can turn it upside down and shake it without spilling a drop. But when I do want to release some liquid refreshment, I just depress the large button at the back and the seal silently opens, then springs back into place when the button is released. So, let me say it again: IT’S SPILL PROOF. You can get the smaller version of this cup for about $20 online or at Target, or this size for about $30. I don’t even drink coffee: I use my mug as a non-sweating water bottle. I keep a few cubes of ice in it because I like my water cold; this will keep it cold all day. This is great for hot beverages, too, especially for busy moms who never seem to get to drink a cuppa until it’s gotten cold. Pop that coffee or tea in here and it will stay warm for several hours. In fact, if you want to drink it right away you have to let it cool before you put it in here!

Terrycloth shop towels

IMG_20151214_132113675

I bought these at Sams a couple of years ago for about $20. I can’t tell you how much I have used them since! I bought them at first to use some as rags and some as face towels (my benzoyl peroxide face wash does a number on colored towels!), but most of them have ended up as rag towels. I keep them folded under my kitchen sink and just grab one whenever I or the kids spill something. One is just the right size for a small spill, but so many of these terry towels come in a package that there’s enough absorption power for even big messes like washing machine leaks. I use them for cleaning, too. This is a great gift for anyone who’s looking to go a little more “green,” as they can be used for many years and reduce the number of paper towels you have to use. You could even put a coupon with the package that says something like, “Pick a cleaning project and I’ll come over and help you with it,” if you feel it needs a little accompaniment to be a good gift.

For a kid: 360 sippy cup

IMG_20151214_132235823

We got these for Jack because we thought it looked like a good way to learn to drink from a rim instead of a spout, and afterwards found that dentists and speech therapists recommend them. There are several brands (Munchkin, Sassy, Miracle Cup), but from what I have read the Sassy brand (pictured) is the best when it comes to getting the gasket clean. There aren’t any small valve pieces to get lost or mildewed: just the large center plastic piece and a silicone gasket that comes clean in the dishwasher. There are several sizes and some have handles– the Sassy handles are interchangeable and the different sizes of cups all use the same size lid. Prices start around $8 for a single cup, but you get them cheaper if you buy the 2-cup sets. Jack chewed on his cups and wore out the gaskets, but we found we can purchase just the silicone part by emailing the company.

Ceramic mixing bowls

IMG_20151214_133530306

I have a lovely set of metal mixing bowls, but there were some recipes that I really wanted to start by melting my butter in the microwave before adding the other ingredients, but since I couldn’t microwave my metal bowls I’d have to use a small glass bowl and use up another dish (and spatula to clean out the dish properly). Metal bowls also aren’t as nice for serving dishes because they don’t keep the warmth in very well. Who wants cold steamed broccoli? Bleah. Not me. I came across this set of mixing bowls at Sams a while back for $20, but they don’t have them any more. A quick Amazon search shows several kinds of sets for $20-$30, or more if you want to spend more. If you get some that are bright colors and are pretty, they double as mixing and serving bowls. I have loved having mine, and I’m sure there’s someone on your gift list who would enjoy them, too!

Electric Kettle

IMG_20151214_132308087

I don’t understand how people live without these; they’re great for making tea, hot chocolate, instant oatmeal (that I give my toddler every morning for breakfast), or for getting a head start on recipes that call for boiling some water. Electric kettles run anywhere from $15-$80, with this model being around $30 from Walmart. They are faster than a stove-top and safer, as they usually have an auto-off switch. That way if you put water on to boil and then forget about it (or have to leave it because the toddler is stuffing paper towels into the baby’s nose), it will shut off by itself and not boil dry and burn your house down.

Coke Can bottle top

IMG_20151214_132348543_HDR

You can get 12 of these for about $10 on Amazon. You probably don’t need 12, but you can give two or three in a gift to someone. They are really handy for busy folks who may not have time to sit down and savor a can of soda. I don’t drink coffee, so when I need a caffeine boost to get rid of a headache or give me some extra energy, I head for the Cherry Coke. Using one of these lids means I can be sure my toddler doesn’t spill it, or I can save part of it for later and still have it fizzy (and cold) in the fridge. Pair this gift with a 12 pack of your friend’s favorite drink, or throw it in as a bonus with another little gift, but it’s a neat thing to have handy.

Shark Navigator Lift-Away Pro

IMG_20151214_132653846

Okay, this one’s more expensive: about $150. But it’s a wonderful vacuum cleaner and if your loved one is ok with that kind of a Christmas gift, this is one I would highly recommend. It comes with a special wood floor attachment that has a microfiber pad to get up the little dusties that don’t always get sucked up by a vacuum. And it really never loses suction: I accidentally vacuumed up a wet wipe, and the vacuum cleaner never even hesitated. This does a great job on our high-pile rug, too, which our previous vacuum did not. Its suction level is comparable to Dyson and other super expensive brands, with a much lower price tag. Recommended by Mary Hunt on her blog: more information here.

A good, sharp chef’s knife

IMG_20151214_132335472

I got this one on clearance at Kohl’s, but this is a gift you can spend what you want on: anywhere from $20 to $200 (or even more!). Everyone (well, every adult) needs a multi-purpose chef’s knife. If you know the recipient already has knives, how about a gift certificate for a sharpening service? Or a handy dandy magnetic knife strip to keep all those knives up off of the counter? (note: I advise anyone doing a wedding registry to skip the knife block. Pick two to five knives you know you’ll use and a knife strip!)

Good boots

IMG_20151214_132620811

This is another expensive one. A pair of good leather boots usually will start at $60 and go up, though you may find a bargain for a little less. Cowboy boots are in now, for use with skirts, shorts, and even formals as well as the classic blue jeans. I love my boots, but need to stretch them since my pregnancy stretched my feet. Before my feet spread out, I wore these all the time: to work as a nurse practitioner, to church, shopping… basically anywhere I didn’t have to wear tennis shoes. I got a brown pair with black cut outs, so I could wear them with either brown or black. I got these online after shopping at a traditional store (Elliot’s in Knoxville) to get the right size and style. Sizes vary even in the same brand, so trying them on is a must! Maybe present this gift as picture and coupon: Good for one pair of boots and the shopping trip (including lunch) to find them.

Other ideas

  • Books! Good and not-so-commonly known authors for adults include: Alton Gansky (adventure), T. Davis Bunn (everything from adventure to mystery to courtroom drama), Stephen Lawhead (historical fantasy, science fiction, fantasy), Tim Downs (adventure/mystery), G.K. Chesterton (theology, mystery).
  • Homemade goodies! Find some recipes online and get cooking. Many grocery stores run specials on baking and candy making supplies this time of year
  • Coupons! Write up some coupons for things that you normally don’t do. If your hubby takes out the trash, give him a month off. Give your wife an evening off, either an evening in or an evening out with the girls. Make a car wash book for a friend, with several coupons to last through spring’s pollen and mud. For a kid, how about “Boss For A Day?” (though I can see some fine print on that coupon!!)
  • Fun t-shirts from ThinkGeek or Shirt Woot
  • Pillows– a really nice pillow might be just the thing to help a loved one sleep better.

I hope you can find what you need for your last-minute gifts! What are some gifts or items you find yourself using all the time?